Commonwealth of Virginia

Thomas A. Lisk, Chair

Andrew Kubincanek, Program Coordinator



Pocahontas Building 900 E. Main St. Eighth Floor Richmond, Virginia 23219 (Phone) 804-786-3591 (Fax) 804-692-0625 akubincanek@dls.virginia.gov http://codecommission.dls.virginia.gov/alac/alac.shtml

Administrative Law Advisory Committee

Meeting Summary Administrative Law Advisory Committee Hearing Officer Desk Book Work Group July 19, 2021 11:30 AM ared Committee Room, Possbortes Buildi

Shared Committee Room, Pocahontas Building

Welcome and call to order

Eric Page welcomed the members of the work group and suggested finalizing the draft of the updated book in November for presentation at the annual administrative law judge training in December.

Hearing Officer Desk Book Updates

Mr. Page presented a list of 10 updates, revisions, or potential new sections for the members of the work group to consider. The group then divided the tasks and planned to share drafts and schedule a subsequent meeting in late August or September.

Mr. Page will review the book for agreement with Part 2A of the Rules of the Supreme Court, consider whether there are relevant outside sources to include in the book, including from the American Bar Association's Section on Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice, and contact Virginia hearing officers for input.

Kristi Wright will review the book for agreement with recent changes in the Hearing Officer System Rules of Administration, check URLs and links for functionality, and review uses of "shall" or "must" to ensure that such terms are only used when referring to rules or statutes.

Alex Skirpan will review recent decisions by the Supreme Court of Virginia or the Court of Appeals and add footnotes or incorporate cases into a new section as is necessary. Mr. Skirpan will also study whether or not the book should include general procedures for remote hearings either through a new section or through an appendix.

Thomas A. Lisk, Chair John Daniel Michelle Gowdy Paul Kugelman Eric M. Page Jeffrey S. Palmore Karen Perrine Mike Quinan Alexander F. Skirpan, Jr. Brooks Smith Jennifer Williamson Kristi S. Wright

Public Comment/Adjourn

Hearing no public comment, Mr. Page adjourned the meeting.